[Book Review] Love, Rosie by Cecilia Ahern

Rosie and Alex are classmates and the best of friends since they were 5 years old. They love to hang out with each other, tell each other everything and have decided they will be best friends for life. They don’t seem to need other good friends to spend time with or anyone else they can pour their hearts out to. All up to the age of 17 when Alex has to move to the U.S. because his father got a job there. Hence, distance comes between them as best friends and possible romantic interests for now, but not before making a pact to apply to colleges in the same city of Boston together. Until Rosie gets pregnant at 18 and everything changes.

9780007538393

The story of their friendship over the years is told mainly from Rosie’s point of view. Disclosed through a series of letters, e-mails, instant messaging, text messages and cards exchanged over the years among Rosie and other characters of the book, Love, Rosie manages to give us a complete picture of her life from age 7 to 50.

Yes, the book spans 44 years of Rosie’s and Alex’s life. Despite this, there is never a dull moment; nothing ever stays stagnant as page after page dishes up more interesting happenings, juicy conversations, friendship adventures and romantic curveballs. All in a comedic, universal plan (it seems) to prevent Alex and Rosie from getting back together.

The characters–comprising Rosie’s family and her support group of friends, neighbours and employers–are interesting and engaging enough to maintain my interest and give a balanced view about Rosie’s life. Along the way we get deeper insights and understand more about each character as we go along.

The text is, more often than not, a blow-by-blow account of the ups and downs, fortunes and misadventures of life in different conversational formats. At times, I felt a little guilty, like an eavesdropper who happened to catch these precious, private moments of exchanges; at other times, I felt privileged to be allowed this window of opportunity to get into their heads in an unusual way. By the end, I found the book really enjoyable although the format could get tedious to read sometimes (because I felt there was something missing when I didn’t know how the characters physically look like, what they are wearing, how they move/breathe and so on.)

This book is an honest look at how we sometimes allow life to lead us by the leash instead of the other way around. It shows us the importance of taking charge and making wise decisions about life, how we achieve balance of compassion and reality in those important relationships in our lives, which are usually more complicated than it is simple. More importantly, it illustrates that what we invest in our relationships normally gives us multi-fold returns, or even if not, we learn important lessons that we would not have gotten elsewhere.

Publication Date: September 2014
Publisher: HarperCollinsPublishers
Genre: Romance, Contemporary Fiction, Chick Lit, Young Adult
Pages: 558 pages

Side note: As of July 2016, I have not watched the movie yet, but I am looking forward to catch it soon!

12 thoughts on “[Book Review] Love, Rosie by Cecilia Ahern

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this book ever since it came out and everyone started raving about it! Watched the movie and thought it was pretty neat, but aren’t books always better? Need to find out 🙂

    1. Hi Sophie! I agree, books are always better! We’re the opposite – I’m going to look for the movie and watch it on a lazy weekend. Curiously, i got led to this book after me and some girlfriends watched ‘Me Before You’ and they encouraged me to pick up this book and watch the movie. I don’t regret it!

      1. ‘Me Before You’ sounds like a big tear-jerker… Which I usually avoid! Still, so many people recommended it to me that I might just give it a try. How did you like it?

      2. Sophie, you must must MUST read ‘Me Before You’… it is a deeply meaningful book, and one of the chick lits that gets you thinking, and dreaming, and loving, and falling… and yes, crying too. It is one book that is actually WORTH the tears. Actually, there are many LOL moments too. It is a gem of a story and a book from Jojo Moyes 🙂

  2. Best book written by Cecelia Ahern I think! Partly because I feel so connected to both Alex and Rosie based upon me and my best friend’s relationship since primary school. It tells an important message to the readers that you need to find out who cares for you the most at your good and hard times and someone who understands you in every way, then grab hold of that opportunity if you think he/she’s the right person for you. To compare between the movie and the book,I think the movie wraps up the entire plot very well despite being not very detailed (which happens to all movie adaptations of books), whereas the book appears to be draggy due to the amount of lengthy letters and online messages in it. Still, as a fan of this great work, I appreciate both the book and movie very much!

    1. Lyn, can you believe that this is actually my first Cecelia Ahern book?? Despite all the rave about her, I didn’t decide to read her until recently (and only because I got back to reading chick lit again after Jojo Moyes’ ‘Me Before You’.) If I were to pick up the next Cecelia Ahern, which title would you recommend?

      Thanks for your thoughts about the movie and the book for Love, Rosie. I can’t wait to watch it then! Yes… I think the value of friendship, especially ‘best friend’-ship, cannot be underestimated. So, don’t let those precious friends and soulmates go… they would certainly add that something “extra” or something “missing” from your lives 😀 😀 😀

      1. I would recommend Thanks for the Memories, it’s a heartwarming story that has got me hooked till the end, and I finished it in a day! If you would like to try something tear-worthy, then P.S. I Love You is a good one 🙂

    1. Yeah, I didn’t know they changed the name. Probably for the movie. Do you still have the book? Next, I plan to watch the movie and get more Cecelia Aherns. The days of shunning romantic chick lit is over!

  3. Love the review! I liked the book, too, but haven’t watched the movie either. Now you’ve made me want to look it up!

Leave a Reply

